Bug #8988

Setting custom create permissions per taxonomy not working

Added by Dan Gillean about 5 years ago. Updated almost 5 years ago.

Status:VerifiedStart date:09/22/2015
Priority:MediumDue date:
Assignee:Dan Gillean% Done:

0%

Category:Access Control
Target version:Release 2.2.1
Google Code Legacy ID: Tested version:2.1, 2.1.1, 2.1.2, 2.2
Sponsored:No Requires documentation:

Description

To reproduce
  • I created a new Group, called volunteers. I am attaching the screenshots of the permissions I set up for this group. Basically:
    • They can create new descriptions, but not edit or publish existing ones
    • Permissions for ALL taxonomies are set to DENY (for Create, update, delete); specific permissions for subjects set to GRANT for Create and Update, and DENY for Delete.
  • Create a new user (volunteer1), and add them to the group Volunteer
  • Log out and log in as volunteer1
  • Create a new description
  • Attempt to add a new subject
    **Alternately, navigate to Browse > Subjects and click the "Add new" button
Resulting error
  • In the archival description edit page, the edit form will allow you to add a new subject term, but the save button no longer has any effect. You cannot save the description until you remove the new subject
  • In the Subject taxonomies page, clicking "Add new" redirects the user to a "You do not have permission" page
Expected result
  • Given the permissions configuration, the user should be able to add new subject terms via either method.

volunteer-description-permissions.png (35.3 KB) Dan Gillean, 09/22/2015 04:34 PM

volunteer-taxonomy permissions.png (31.5 KB) Dan Gillean, 09/22/2015 04:34 PM


Related issues

Related to Access to Memory (AtoM) - Bug #7695: Setting custom taxonomy delete permissions overrides all ... New 12/11/2014

History

#1 Updated by Dan Gillean about 5 years ago

Attaching permissions setting screenshots for group "Volunteers"

#2 Updated by Dan Gillean about 5 years ago

  • Related to Bug #7695: Setting custom taxonomy delete permissions overrides all taxonomy delete permissions added

#3 Updated by Dan Gillean about 5 years ago

  • Tested version 2.1, 2.1.1, 2.1.2 added

User reported confirmation of this behavior in 2.1 as well. Related user forum thread:

#4 Updated by José Raddaoui Marín about 5 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Code Review
  • Assignee changed from José Raddaoui Marín to Nick Wilkinson

Ready for code review: PR 249

#5 Updated by Nick Wilkinson about 5 years ago

  • Assignee changed from Nick Wilkinson to Jesús García Crespo

#6 Updated by Jesús García Crespo almost 5 years ago

  • Status changed from Code Review to Feedback
  • Assignee changed from Jesús García Crespo to José Raddaoui Marín

LGTM

#7 Updated by José Raddaoui Marín almost 5 years ago

  • Status changed from Feedback to QA/Review
  • Assignee changed from José Raddaoui Marín to Dan Gillean

Merged in qa/2.3.x. Please, let me know if I should add it to stable/2.2.x

#8 Updated by Dan Gillean almost 5 years ago

  • Status changed from QA/Review to Verified

Nice!

Yes, if we can put this in 2.2.1, we probably should. Thanks Radda!

#9 Updated by Dan Gillean almost 5 years ago

  • Target version set to Release 2.2.1

#10 Updated by José Raddaoui Marín almost 5 years ago

Added to stable/2.2.x

Also available in: Atom PDF